Welcome to the Electoral Boundaries Commission

The Electoral Boundaries Commission (EBC) is an independent statutory body constituted under the Electoral Boundaries Commission Act 1982 (external link)

Its role is to divide Victoria into electoral regions for the State's Legislative Council (Upper House) and electoral districts for the Legislative Assembly (Lower House).

To ensure each vote in Victorian State elections has equal value and each elector is represented equally in Parliament, the EBC must establish and maintain electorates of approximately equal enrolment. This is defined as not varying by more than 10% from the average enrolment per seat for each House.

The EBC is composed of independent and impartial officeholders, and is not responsible to any Minister or Government.

2020-21 Redivision of State electoral boundaries: provisional dates

26 November 2020 Start of redivision (two years before 2022 State election)
16 December 2020 Public information session. Start of public submissions
1 March 2021 Close of submissions
30 June 2021 Release of proposed boundaries
30 July 2021 Deadline for suggestions and objections about proposed boundaries
14 October 2021 Release of final boundaries

Note: Dates are provisional and will be finalised closer to the commencement of the redivision.

Please rate this page from 1 to 5 where 1 is unhelpful and 5 is very helpful