Thursday, 7 July 2005
For immediate release

Electoral Boundaries Commission releases proposed State upper house boundaries

Victoria's Electoral Boundaries Commission (EBC) today released proposed new electoral boundaries for the State Legislative Council (Upper House). The EBC has been conducting a redivision to create eight new electoral regions covering the State, and has released proposed boundaries for public comment.

Maps of the proposed boundaries are attached. Each proposed region is made up of eleven electoral districts (Lower House electorates), and has more than 400,000 electors.

The proposed boundaries can be downloaded from the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) website,, and can be inspected during business hours at the VEC, Level 8, 505 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Vic 3000. From 11 July 2005, the proposed boundaries will also be available for public inspection at the principal office of all municipal councils across the State.

Any person or organisation may lodge a written suggestion or objection about the proposed boundaries with the EBC. The deadline for suggestions or objections is 8 August 2005.

The EBC will take account of suggestions and objections, and prepare final boundaries by mid-October 2005. These boundaries will take effect at the 2006 State election.

Paul Thornton-Smith

- ENDS -

For further information, please call:
Paul Thornton-Smith
Electoral Boundaries Commission
Phone: 9299 0732

Please rate this page from 1 to 5 where 1 is unhelpful and 5 is very helpful